Faculty and Staff

The nursing faculty members at SPU are experts in their fields and are committed to sharing that knowledge with you. Professors are actively involved in many areas of professional nursing, including research, writing, leadership, and clinical practice.

In addition to full-time faculty, adjunct faculty members teach part-time in clinical courses, specializing in community health, mental health, obstetrics, pediatrics, and medical surgical nursing. To find out if there are openings, contact us at 206-281-2606.

Open Faculty Positions

Faculty

Vicki Aaberg Vicki Aaberg
RN, PhD
Assistant Professor

Phone: 206-281-2609
Email: aaberv@spu.edu
Scholarship interests Nursing Education,Disabilities
Sandra Mortinson
RN, MSN

Instructor

Phone: 206-281-2331
Email: mortis@spu.edu

Gaylene Altman
RN, PhD
Professor

Phone: 206-281-3530
Email: altmag@spu.edu

Valorie Orton
RN, MSN, CNL
Instructor

Phone: 206-281-2611
Email: ortonv@spu.edu

Sarah Bear
RN, MSN
Director, RN to BSN Program

Phone: 206-281-2607
Email: bears@spu.edu
Scholarship interests: Nursing Education, Adult Learners, Educational Systems and Partnerships
Linda Pedersen
ARNP, MSN

Instructor, NP Program Director

 

Adjunct Faculty of the Year

2008-2009


Phone: 206-281-2634
Email: pederl1@spu.edu

Mary Coucoules

RN, MN

Instructor

Phone: 206-281-2769
Email: coucou@spu.edu
Scholarship interest: Simulation

Carol Redfield
RN, MSN

Instructor

 

Adjunct Faculty of the Year

2003-2004


Phone: 206-281-2829
Email: carolsr@spu.edu
Scholarship interests: Nursing Education, Simulation, Nursing, Student Attitudes of Older Adults

Carol McFarland
RN, MN

Instructor

 

Adjunct Faculty of the Year

2012-2013


Phone: 206-281-2612
Email: cmcfar@spu.edu

Bethany Rolfe Witham
ARNP, DNP

Assistant Professor

Phone: 206-281-2978
Email: bethanyr@spu.edu

Scholarship interests: Culturally competent care; Social Determinants of Health

April Morgenroth
RN, MN, CCRN

 

Assistant Professor

Phone: 206-281-3431

Email: morgenrotha@spu.edu

Scholarship Interests: chronic illness, autonomy in nursing, parternships for global health

Bomin Shim
RN, PhD

Assistant Professor

Phone: 206-281-2731
Email: shimb@spu.edu
Scholarship interests: Dementia caregiving, Meaning in life, Morality

Heidi Monroe

Heidi Monroe
RN, MSN, CPN
Instructor

Phone: 206-281-2726
Email: monroh@spu.edu
Scholarship interests: Nursing Education, Gender Diversity, Pediatric Bioethics

Lorie Wild
PhD, RN, NEA-BC

Dean

Phone: 206-281-2608 Email: wildl@spu.edu

Administrative Staff

Katie Bennett
Administrative Assistant

Graduate Program
Phone: 206-281-2616
Email: kbennett@spu.edu
Linda Meerdink

Administrative Assistant: Undergraduate Program

Phone: 206-281-2698
Email: lmeerdink@spu.edu

Julie Ann Harrington
Budget Manager, Assistant to the Dean

Phone: 206-281-2606 Email: harrij8@spu.edu
Daphne Romano
Contracts

Phone: 206-281-2765
Email: dromano@spu.edu
Julie Kolbo
Skills Lab Coordinator

Phone: 206-281-2774
Email: kolboj@spu.edu
Beth Van Camp
Admissions Counselor, Graduate Program

Phone: 206-281-2888
Email: beth.vancamp@spu.edu